Report of the Secretary presented at the 57th General Body Meeting of the Indian Phytopathological Society held at Marathwada Agricultural University, Parbhani, January 13, 2005

Mr. President, Members of Indian Phytopathological Society, Ladies and Gentlemen, it is my proud priviledge to welcome you all in this 57th Annual General Body Meeting of the Society at MAU, Parbhani. It gives me great pleasure to present before you various activities of the Society held during 2004.

I am happy to inform you that three issues of Vol. 57 (2004) have been printed and dispatched to the members of the Society and fourth issue is in press. The Society has 1773 members on its roll, which includes 303 Annual Members, 1295 Life Members and 175 Subscribers.

EC approved on the basis of recommendation of Select Committee the award of Fellow of Indian Phytopathological Society (FPSI-2004) to four out of six candidates viz., Drs. A.S. Byadgi, Yashoda Hedge, UAS, Dharwad; Mansoor Alam, Lucknow; and K.K. Zote, MAU, Parbhani.

A committee of 4 Judges evaluated the papers published in Indian Phytopathology Vol. 55 (2002) for Prof. M.J. Narasimhan Medal Award. I take this opportunity to inform the members that Research paper entitled "Interspecific hybridization in *Pleurotus species*" by Drs. D. Bahukhandi and R.K. Sharma, Vol. 55 (1): 61-68 has been adjudged as Best Research Paper for the year 2002 and the research paper entitled "Pathogenic and genetic diversity among Indian isolates of *Sclerospora graminicola* from pearl millet" by Drs. S. Sivaramakrishnan, R.P. Thakur, Seetha Kannan and V.P. Rao, Vol. 56 (4): 392-397 has been adjudged as Best Research Paper for the year 2003.

The EC approved the name of Dr. (Mrs.) Rohini Iyer, Kasargod, Kerala for Jeersanidhi Memorial Lecture Award (2005). No consensus could be

developed for Mundkur Memorial Lecture Award (2005) and Dr. K.C. Mehta and Manoranjan Mitra Memorial Award (2005) and it was suggested that the next Executive Council should take up this matter.

Out of eleven contestants, the Judging Committee has recommended the name of Dr. (Mrs.) Jyoti Sharma, New Delhi for Prof. M.J. Narasimhan Merit Academic Award (2004) for her presentation on "Agrobacterium mediated transformation to develop transgenic papaya resistant to papaya ringspot virus and determination of sequence diversity amongst the Indian PRSV isolates".

The Poster Evaluation Committee recommended the poster paper presented by Dr. Y.M. Somashekhara, Bijapur on "Epidemiology and management of pomegranate (*Puccinia granatum* L.) wilt (*Ceratocystis fimbriata*, Latin American Group)" for Prof. K.P.V. Menon Best Poster Paper Award (2004).

"IPS travel sponsorship for young scientists" was given to two Ph.D. students namely P. Raja, New Delhi and Ms. Vandana Mankotia, Palampur for attending the National Symposium.

All the seven Zonal Chapters of the Society remained very active and organized symposia in their respective Zonal Meetings on important aspects of plant diseases. I congratulate Zonal Presidents and Councillors for their sincere efforts and activities.

In this National Symposium on "Crop Disease Management in Dryland Agriculture" 150 papers have been received for presentation. 20 invited speakers also presented their views on the theme of symposium.

508 Indian Phytopathology [Vol. 58(4): 2005]

VENUE FOR NEXT ANNUAL MEETING

The venue for 58th Annual Meeting and National Symposium of the Society will be finalized by the Secretary in consultation with President.

ELECTION OF EXECUTIVE COUNCIL (2005)

The Vote Counting Committee consisting of four members have submitted the following results for the various offices and the compositions of EC will be as follows:

President-Elect (2005): L.V. Gangawane

Zonal Chapters (2005)

Delhi

| Zonal President Zonal Councillor | O.M. Bambawale D. Bahukhandi | Elected Elected |
|-------------------------------------|---------------------------------|--------------------|
| Northern | | |
| Zonal President | Sher Singh | Elected |
| Zonal Councillor | Indira Hudda | Elected |
| Mid-Eastern | | |
| Zonal President | Kumud Kumar | Elected |
| Zonal Councillor | Mukesh Srivastava | Elected |
| Eastern | | |
| Zonal President | B.S. Dileep Kumar | Elected |
| Zonal Councillor | Paran Baruah | Elected |
| Central | | |
| Zonal President | Jamaluddin | Nominated |
| Zonal Councillor | V. Nath | Nominated |
| Western | | |
| Zonal President | B.P. Kurundkar | Nominated |
| Zonal Councillor | B.M. Kareppa | Nominated |
| Southern | | |
| Zonal President | T. Kalaimani | Nominated |
| Zonal Councillor | A. Eswaran | Nominated |

Detailed discussions were held on the agenda items at the E.C. Meeting and the General Body approved following decisions.

- (i) It was resolved that the account and savings of the National Symposium 2004 held at IARI, New Delhi should be transferred to Society's account at the earliest and the Secretary was entrusted to take immediate steps in this regard.
- (ii) All the zonal chapters should submit the receipt and expenditure statement, preferably audited to the Society at the earliest.

- (iii) Eligibility criteria of different awards be printed in one issue of the journal.
- (iv) Letter requesting for CV of award nominees should also reflect the names of other nominees of the same award.
- (v) Salary of Office Assistant has been increased from Rs. 1400/- to 1600/- pm.
- (vi) A committee to develop a policy draft of Plant Pathology has been constituted as follows: Dr. Anupam Varma, Drs. C.D. Mayee, S.M. Paul Khurana, M.M. Payak, J. P. Verma, C. Manoharachary and Dr. S.C. Chatterjee, Secretary, IPS Convener

This committee may co-opt other experts as and when specific issues are to be deliberated.

On behalf of the Society, I thankfully acknowledge the Financial Assistance of Rs. 90,000/-(Rupees Ninety thousand) for publication of the journal "Indian Phytopathology" by ICAR, New Delhi. The Society also acknowledges the financial support of Rs. 40,000/- by the CSIR, New Delhi and Rs. 30,000/- by the DST, New Delhi for organizing National Symposium on "Crop Disease Management in Dryland Agriculture" at MAU, Parbhani.

I also express my sincere gratitude to Dr. S.M. Paul Khurana, President of the Society for his guidance, advice, encouragement and support in day-to-day functioning of the Society. I am thankful to Chairmen(s) and Rapporteur of different sessions for conducting the proceedings nicely. I express my gratitude to Dr. C.D. Mayee for his motivation and encouragement. I thank profusely to Dr. V.M. Pawar, Vice-Chancellor, MAU, Parbhani for kindly agreeing to host the 57th National Symposium of IPS at Parbhani. I also extend my sincere thanks to Dr. K.K. Zote and Dr. V.V. Datar, Local Oraganizing Secretary for their ungrudging help in conducting the symposium. My thanks are also due to all the staff members and students for rendering their valuable help in various ways for making the Meeting a grand success. It is my prime duty to thank all the members of E.C. for their cooperation, advice, support and suggestions in various matters for making this Meeting a grand success. Last but not the least I am thankful to the staff at the Headquarters of IPS.

> (S.C. Chatterjee) Secretary